Stuck in Rainy Traffic

02/02/2021


Who says that a photoshoot needs to have specific locations and well thought out plans? The best ones are actually the most unexpected with the least amount of efforts.

The images when converted to black and white will show a whole new different texture and emotions when compared to when it is with colors. From my own experience of working with no colors for a period of time, I started to figure out what was suitable and unsuitable for black and white.

For instance, rainbows, sunset and sunrise proves to not work too well without colors, because the image* beauty is its original colors. But when it comes to streets, textures and objects that look plain in colors, they will show amazingly in black and white. And once those general ideas get stamp into my mind, I then look at the world through a mental black and white lens. What I used to do at first, when trying out black and white, I Would use my smartphone, and turn the black and white camera effect on, and walk around to actually see what the world is like when there are absolutely no colors. As time passes, pre-check to the world through an artificial lens is no longer necessary, because my own brain could picture whatever in front of me to be black and white. I didn't notice it myself, but all of it comes neutrally.

This helps me see locations and areas that could make a quality photo to be posted on social media. Through someone who is committed to two shades of color photos, I search for a particular thing to photoshoot, which is very different to how I normally do with colors.



To kill time I decided to take some photos to kill time in this Bangkok traffic jam, with the beautiful rain pouring down. I thrive for originality and creating photos that screams out my individuality, therefore, a simple raindrop on the glass image isn't going to be enough. As a result I decided to put my other hand on the glass, so it reflects my hands, with a touch of my flower ring that I wear everywhere with me.

I try to give off this calming effect when someone sees these photos that I posted right next to each other in one row on Instagram. The smell of rain, the coldness it brings, and how it made all the motions in the world slow down. The rain blurs out a large amount of details, yet it adds much more. Just like snow, raindrop patterns can never be the same, whether it is falling from the sky, dripping off the corner of the roof, or grabbing onto the opposite side of the very glass I lay my fingers on.



The most noticeable struggle as a black and white photographer, there has to be a focus point that stood out even without colors. As a comparison, in colors, the bright colors, such as red, would typically stand out in a frame, but when leading back to black and white, the play of patterns and texture comes into role.

What I have done in these three photos of mine, is I have spaces that are smooth, and don't stand out, which contrasts with all the roughness of the raindrops, and the ring that I wear. This means, the viewer's eye will automatically lead their attention to the rough textured space and let the smoothness fade into the background.

However, when there is a great deal of textures, the color is what decides the focus point of one image. For the case of black and white, both colors can share the role of being the center of attention depending on how the photographer chooses. As for these three pictures, the glistening white on the ring and the glass are the focus points. The way my hand is not the attention is because it has a smooth texture, similar to the background, which forces it to fade out of the eye's focus point.

By providing three photos with a variety of angles is how I portray that one position of the object can be taken in different ways. Indeed, there are infinite angles to everything. But what I have done in these photos can also be done all over the globe by everyone. A little fun idea for new photographers to go try out and have fun doing so.


Check out the rest of my galleries on my social media

Instagram : I_majesty

Instagram : I.Majesty
https://www.instagram.com/i.majesty/
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started